This is an unboxing of my first ever scale figure which is my birthday gift to myself. This is the Limited Edition Kotobukiya ArtFX J Fullmetal Alchemist Edward Elric 1/8 Scale Figure! 😀

The limited edition comes with an awesome base with Al’s armor and an extra torso and faceplate featuring a smirking, half naked Ed.

Limited Edition Figure:
Order from Tokyo Otaku Mode: http://corneey.com/wymIhh
Regular Figure:
Order from Amazon: http://corneey.com/wymIWc, http://corneey.com/wymIF1

Image gallery: https://imgur.com/gallery/YhE0v
Sorry for the autofocus mishaps I’m still learning how to operate my new camera 😀

 

This is Ed with his face swapped with the limited edition Smiling one. I love how his cloak is sculpted here. Gives that needed action shot to make the figure more interesting.20171117_215508

Here’s a fuller version of Ed. This is how I see him when I placed him on my bookshelf.20171117_215633

Another shot this time highlighting the details on his clothes and the marks on Al’s armor. You can peak at the blood seal inside Al’s armor here.20171117_215756

 

A shot of the back of the base. A lot more detail was put into Ed’s clothes at the back then what was necessary for which I love. The transmutation circle sculpted on the back looks really good. You can almost read the Latin phrases written on it.20171117_220017

Finally, a shot of the homonculus side of the base. This is not a head on shot and therefore it looks a little warped but they still do look creepy.20171117_215946

My favorite detail on the base. This is Al’s cracked armor with the blood seal clearly printed on the inside of the armor. They went beyond for this little seal. I love it.20171117_215712

I swapped torso and face parts on this one shot. This is now a serious looking Ed with his automail arm in full view. And if you can see I finally managed to correctly attach the pocket watch chain to his pants.20171117_220959

I love how they retained a lot of the detail of his automail from the scars of it connecting to his chest to the tiny bolts and hinges peppered throughout the arm. Love this sculpt.20171117_220632

At the back is something I didn’t quite notice in the anime myself but it’s very interesting to see it in detail on this figure. The wiring of his automail or his blood vessels also look really detailed. 20171117_220838

Even under his arm you could see the little details I didn’t even knew existed under Ed’s automail. There’s some copper wiring and more blood vessels or wires running through. You can also see the pocket watch chain.20171110_214728

Overall, I really like Ed her. I love the base with Al’s armor which makes it worth the limited edition price. I also love the detailed automail torso which is also a limited edition exclusive. So I’m really glad I spent the extra money to buy the limited edition. I really like Ed as a character and really like how the pose and sculpt they have of him here.20171117_220424

Leave a comment